forallkrot.blogg.se

Imac mid 2010 graphics card replacement
Imac mid 2010 graphics card replacement







imac mid 2010 graphics card replacement

My iMac 27 Late’09 with the ATI Raedon HD 4850 had the typical symptoms with these bars. When I opened up the case, it was packed full of dust – probably why it overheated. Well, it finally broke down (third time’s the charm), and re-baking the card was the cure once again. It hasn’t stopped running since (it’s been almost 2 years). I also started using an external fan to help with air flow. So, I took it all apart again, re-baked the graphics card (at 400✯ this time), re-assembled the iMac, and the system booted just fine.Īt this p oint I figured the iMac was just overheating, so I installed Fan Control to boost the internal fan speed. So, that’s what I did.Īfter it cooled, I began the laborious process of putting it back together. I finally plugged it in and booted it up – to see if it was worth all that trouble.ġ9 days later, the symptoms returned.

#IMAC MID 2010 GRAPHICS CARD REPLACEMENT HOW TO#

The first step was to dismantle the iMac and get the graphics c ard out. Luckily, there are some good online resources that show how to do that.Įventually I got the graphics card out and onto a baking sheet – it was ready.įrom what I read, it should bake for 10 min. Since I had nothing else to lose, I decided to give it a try. Baking it in the oven should re-melt the solder back together and fix the problem. The theory is that over time, the solder (metallic stuff that holds the connections together) gets weak and eventually separates a little – causing the graphics card to fail. Then, by some strange circumstance, I happened to be reading about people who baked their graphics cards in the oven and brought them back to life. That was more than I wanted to spend, so I just left the thing sitting in it’s box. It was going to cost $500 to replace the card. There were some strange vertical green lines on the screen and it froze on boot.

imac mid 2010 graphics card replacement

I got an iMac in 2008 with a Nvidia GeForce 8800 GS graphics card. After about 2 years, the computer crashed.









Imac mid 2010 graphics card replacement